Board of Trustees

Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota is governed by its board of trustees. The board has fiduciary responsibility for the governance of the university.

Operationally, the board relies on a strong committee structure to oversee the important functions for which it is responsible. The president is the chief executive officer of the university and is also a trustee. The role of a trustee is not ceremonial. It involves serious work and a significant time commitment. The board meets three times a year for two days, on either the Winona or Twin Cities campus. Committees meet in conjunction with regular board meetings. The trustees are a highly accomplished, dedicated, and enthusiastic group of people who share a commitment to Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota.

Officers of the Board

Terry K. Russell '76
Bonita Springs, Fla.
Retired, Executive Vice President
Guy Carpenter & Company, LLC

Michael Laak '77, J.D.
Maple Grove, Minn.
Senior Legal Counsel
Medtronic, Inc.

Rev. James P. Burns, IVD, Ph.D.
Winona, Minn.
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota

Sandra (Kaiser) Simon CST'72
Jupiter, Fla.
KJ Investment LLC

Gregory Stevens '74
Saint Paul, Minn.
Senior Vice President – Wealth Management
UBS Financial Services, Inc.

Board Members

Jennifer Baryl '86
Chicago, Ill.
Vice President of Development
Kohl Children's Museum

Matthew Bilski '07
New Brighton, Minn.
Lead Chemist

Brother Robert Bimonte, FSC
Bronx, N.Y.

Robert Cerone '75
Wilmette, Ill.
Founder and CEO
Cognos HR, LLC

Jerome Colletti '69
Scottsdale, Ariz.
Retired, Managing Partner
Colletti-Fiss, LLC

Brother Jack Curran, FSC, Ph.D.
Riverdale, N.Y.
Vice President for Mission
Manhattan College

John Domanico '77, DDS
LaGrange, Ill.
Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon

Brother Michael Fehrenbach, FSC
Burr Ridge, Ill.
Visitor of the Midwest District
Brothers of the Christian Schools

Raffi Festekjian
Winchester, Mass.
Executive Chairman- Managing Partner
NuArca, LLC

Bobbie (Smith) Gostout '83, M.D.
Rochester, Minn.
Retired, President
Mayo Clinic Health System

Roger S. Haydock '67, J.D.
Spearfish, S.D.
Professor of Law
Mitchell Hamline School of Law

Mark Jacobs
Winona, Minn.
Chief Executive Officer
The Watkins Co.

Amy Johnson '93, J.D.
Monee, Ill.
HeplerBroom, LLC

Brother Thomas Johnson, FSC
Chicago, Ill.
Director of the Novitiate
Lasallian Region of North America (RELAN)

Julie Kaiser '84, DPT
Glenview, Ill.

Sarah (Marek) Landman '04, M'07
Naples, Fla.
Senior Vice President

Brother Michael J. McGinniss, FSC, Ph.D.
Philadelphia, Pa.
President Emeritus and Professor of Religion
La Salle University

Brother Michael O'Hern, FSC
New York, N.Y.
President Emeritus
Christian Brothers Investment Services

Kaye O’Leary
Wayzata, Minn.
River Rock Partners

Angela Steger '76
Wilmette, Ill.
Retired, Financial Representative
Rabjohns Financial Group

Ann (O'Connor) Trauscht '77, M.D.
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Retired, Physician
Advocate Occupational Health

Marcy Van Fossen, Ph.D.
Winona, Minn.

John Wade CST'86
Rochester, Minn.

Mary Pat (Navins) Wlazik '73
Plymouth, Minn.
Retired, Vice President
U.S. Bank Technology and Operations Services

Trustees Emeriti

Michael Gostomski '62
Winona, Minn.

Michael Dooley '66
Chesterfield, Mo.

John Ehlert '67
Sarasota, Fla.

Thomas F. Meagher '53
Burr Ridge, Ill.

Paul J. Meyer '64
Phoenix, Ariz.

Mary Ann Remick
Rochester, Minn.

Joseph Ross '67
Bonita Springs, Fla.

Loras "Red" Sieve '60
Edina, Minn.

David Thies '59
Edina, Minn.

Bernie Wagnild
Lakeville, Minn.

Trustees Directory

Access the password protected directory for trustees.

Access the Directory