Rooted in Spiritual and Personal Growth

Grounded in the Lasallian Catholic tradition, the Philosophy and Theology Department creates a foundation for lifelong learning by encouraging you to seek the truth and improve your critical thinking skills.

If exploration and understanding of Christian faith drives you, our theology program will help you to attain an increased understanding of the living tradition of Christianity and its place in the modern world. Here, we know that faith and reason, properly understood, work in harmony toward a greater understanding of God.

Investigate the chief figures and systems of inquiry that emerged throughout the history of philosophy. Then, like Pythagoras and Socrates, reflect upon human existence and endeavors. This principle of philosophy, forming and evaluating arguments, is one of the skills you will develop to pursue a successful career and more fulfilling life.

At Saint Mary’s, you will be challenged to broaden your perspectives by examining your reasoning and value judgments, without losing sight of the university’s Judeo–Christian grounding and vision. This will provide you with a foundation for everlasting learning and transformation.

Jacob Tschida '20

Career and Vocational Options

As a graduate from one of our philosophy or theology programs, you will be prepared for a variety of careers and vocational pursuits such as education, theology, law, Christian ministry and service, publishing, healthcare, and marketing. You could even study to become a campus or hospital chaplain, social justice advocate, or missionary worker.

Go even further with a graduate degree from Saint Mary’s in education, health and human services, or an advanced degree in pre-theology or pre-law.

At Saint Mary’s, we will prepare you for a life of ethical service and leadership, wherever your career and life takes you. How do our core Lasallian principles guide you while studying philosophy or theology at Saint Mary’s?

Learn About Our Dynamic Community

Faculty

Mark Barber, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Theology and Philosophy

Campus Box: # 70

(507) 457-1500

mbarber@smumn.edu

Mark Barber Ph.D.
Joyce Bautch, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Theology and Philosophy

Saint Mary's Hall, SM 223A

Campus Box: # 1469

(507) 457-1424

jbautch@smumn.edu

Joyce Bautch Ph.D.
Christopher Bobier, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Theology and Philosophy

Saint Mary's Hall, SM 326

Campus Box: # 1416

(507) 457-1541

cbobier@smumn.edu

Christopher Bobier Ph.D.
Patricia Calton, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Theology and Philosophy

Saint Mary's Hall, SM 309

Campus Box: # 70

(507) 457-1550

pcalton@smumn.edu

Patricia Calton Ph.D.
Robert Horihan, Ph.L.

Visiting Assistant Professor

Theology and Philosophy

Saint Mary's Hall, SM 223C

Campus Box: # 43

rhorihan@smumn.edu

Robert Horihan Ph.L.
David Kwon, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Theology and Philosophy

Saint Mary's Hall, SM 223B

Campus Box: # 1450

(507) 457-1995

dkwon@smumn.edu

David Kwon Ph.D.
Bishop John Quinn, M.A.

Course-Contracted Lecturer

Theology and Philosophy

DIOCESE OF WINONA, PO BOX 588

(507) 457-8759

jquinn@smumn.edu

Bishop John Quinn M.A.
Kevin Rickert, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Theology and Philosophy

Saint Mary's Hall, SM 324

Campus Box: # 1521

(507) 457-7275

krickert@smumn.edu

Kevin Rickert Ph.D.
Kenneth Stenstrup, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Theology and Philosophy

Saint Mary's Hall, SM 223D

Campus Box: # 1440

(507) 457-6625

kstenstr@smumn.edu

Joseph Tadie, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Theology and Philosophy

Saint Mary's Hall, SM 328

Campus Box: # 1504

(507) 457-6652

jtadie@smumn.edu

Joseph Tadie Ph.D.
Laura Ziliak, M.A.

Course-Contracted Lecturer

Theology and Philosophy

Campus Box: # 1425

lziliak@smumn.edu