Board of Trustees | Saint Mary's University of Minnesota Skip to Main Content

Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota is governed by its board of trustees.

The board has fiduciary responsibility for the governance of the university.

Operationally, the board relies on a strong committee structure to oversee the important functions for which it is responsible. The president is the chief executive officer of the university and is also a trustee. The role of a trustee is not ceremonial. It involves serious work and a significant time commitment. The board meets three times a year for two days, on either the Winona or Twin Cities campus. Committees meet in conjunction with regular board meetings. The trustees are a highly accomplished, dedicated, and enthusiastic group of people who share a commitment to Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota.

Officers of the Board

Terry K. Russell B’76
Bonita Springs, Fla.
Retired, Executive Vice President
Guy Carpenter & Company, LLC


Michael Laak B’77, J.D.
Maple Grove, Minn.
Senior Legal Counsel
Medtronic, Inc.


Rev. James P. Burns, IVD, Ph.D.
Winona, Minn.
Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota


Sandra (Kaiser) Simon CST’72
Jupiter, Fla.
Retired President, KJ Investments


Gregory Stevens B’74
Saint Paul, Minn.
Retired, Senior Vice President – Wealth Management
UBS Financial Services, Inc.

Board Members

Most Rev. Robert Barron, S.T.D
Winona, MN
Bishop, Diocese of Winona-Rochester


Jennifer Baryl B’86
Chicago, Ill.
Vice President of Development
Kohl Children’s Museum


Matthew Bilski B’07
New Brighton, Minn.
Lead Chemist


Brother Robert Bimonte, FSC
Bronx, N.Y.


Robert Cerone B’75
Wilmette, Ill.
Founder and CEO
Cognos HR, LLC


Jerome Colletti B’69
Scottsdale, Ariz.
Retired, Managing Partner
Colletti-Fiss, LLC


Brother Jack Curran, FSC, Ph.D.
Bronx, N.Y.
Vice President for Mission


Brother Michael Fehrenbach, FSC
Burr Ridge, Ill.
Visitor of the Midwest District
Brothers of the Christian Schools


Raffi Festekjian
Winchester, Mass.
Executive Chairman- Managing Partner
NuArca, LLC


Bobbie (Smith) Gostout ’83, M.D.
Rochester, Minn.
Retired, President
Mayo Clinic Health System


Roger S. Haydock B’67, J.D.
Spearfish, S.D.
Professor of Law
Mitchell Hamline School of Law


Mark Jacobs
Winona, Minn.
Chief Executive Officer
The Watkins Co.


Brother Thomas Johnson, FSC
Romeoville, Ill.


Julie Kaiser B’84, DPT
Sheboygan, Wis


Sarah (Marek) Landman B’04, M’07
Naples, Fla.
Executive Vice President


Brother Michael J. McGinniss, FSC, Ph.D.
Philadelphia, Pa.
President Emeritus and Professor of Religion
La Salle University


Shaun Powers
Chicago, IL
Retired President, Airgas, Inc.


Brother Michael O’Hern, FSC
Lake Forest, Ill.
President Emeritus
Christian Brothers Investment Services


Angela Steger B’76
Wilmette, Ill.
Retired, Financial Representative
Rabjohns Financial Group


Ann (O’Connor) Trauscht B’77, M.D.
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Retired, Physician
Advocate Occupational Health


Marcy Van Fossen, Ph.D.
Winona, Minn.

Trustees Emeriti

Michael Gostomski B’62
Winona, Minn.


Michael Dooley B’66
Chesterfield, Mo.


John Ehlert B’67
Sarasota, Fla.


Thomas F. Meagher B’53
Burr Ridge, Ill.


Paul J. Meyer B’64
Phoenix, Ariz.


Mary Ann Remick, CST’64
Rochester, Minn.


Joseph Ross B’67
Bonita Springs, Fla.


Loras “Red” Sieve B’60
Edina, Minn.


David Thies B’59
Edina, Minn.


Bernie Wagnild
Lakeville, Minn.