Five to be honored for service, dedication at Saint Mary’s Founders’ Day - Saint Mary's University of Minnesota Skip to Main Content
Go Back

Five to be honored for service, dedication at Saint Mary’s Founders’ Day

February 21, 2019

Campus Notes News

In celebration of its heritage, Saint Mary’s University will present awards to the leader of the De La Salle Christian Brothers, as well as one faculty member, one staff member, and two outstanding seniors at its annual Founders’ Day celebration Tuesday, March 12, on the Winona Campus.

Brother Robert Schieler, FSC, Superior General of the De La Salle Christian Brothers will be receiving an honorary doctorate of educational leadership. In his position, Brother Robert leads the largest order of religious Brothers in the Church dedicated to education. The honorary doctorate recognizes Brother Robert’s dedication to the Lasallian charism, especially his service to the poor and his commitment to education. Prior to being named Superior General in 2014, Brother Robert served as general councilor for the Lasallian Region of North America (RELAN). He also served as a trustee for Saint Mary’s University from 2011-2014. Brother Robert has said his mission is to “inspire the Brothers and all members of the worldwide Lasallian family to create and sustain communities of human and Christian education, especially for vulnerable young people who live on the margins of contemporary society.”

Dr. Tricia Klosky, Criminal Justice coordinator and department chair and associate professor in Social Science, will receive the Brother Charles H. Severin, FSC, Award. Given by the university every other year, this award is bestowed on a faculty member who demonstrates sustained excellence in teaching, contributes to the university outside of the classroom, builds community by serving as a model of the Lasallian spirit, and is a creative, passionate, and inspiring teacher. Dr. Klosky, who has taught at Saint Mary’s for 17 years, has successfully grown the Criminal Justice major and demonstrates her commitment to students both inside and outside of the classroom.

Alisa Macksey, executive director of the First Generation Initiative, will receive the Distinguished Lasallian Educator Award. Presented each year, the award recognizes a member of the faculty, staff, or administration whose life of faith and service exemplifies the ideals of Saint John Baptist de La Salle. The award is given by Lasallian institutions like Saint Mary’s in the Lasallian Region of North America of the De La Salle Christian Brothers to honor contributions and commitment to the Lasallian mission of education. Macksey has worked in various roles within the Lasallian network since 2000 and has has led the First Generation Initiative at Saint Mary’s since 2015. She also has been instrumental in developing the AXIS: Journal of Lasallian Higher Education and the International Symposium on Lasallian Research.

Nominees for the 2019 Outstanding Senior Awards are: males: Max Champa, Aldontae Guess, Zechariah Kitzhaber, Bailey Melz, and Nathan Young; females: Tatiana Jones, Marissa Kinzer, Erin McCoy, Bailey O’Hare, and Laura Sonday. Outstanding seniors have demonstrated the ideals of scholarship, character, leadership, and services. Above all, these men and women have shown genuine concern for meeting the needs of others. One Outstanding Male and one Outstanding Female student will be announced at the end of the Founders’ Day ceremony.

Congratulations to all those being honored.